Welcome!

Jennifer Douglas is a literary publicist who believes in the right of equality for all authors. With a vision of a world where positivity is the norm and negativity is long forgotten Jennifer works alongside authors creating a marketing and publicity plan that meets the needs of the individual.

With years of experience in publicity, public relations and the marketing industry, which includes working with Allen and Unwin and Palmer Higgs Publishing, Jennifer has become a well sort after reviewer. To work with Jennifer is to know you are working with someone who will not hold back on being open and honest about your book and its marketing possibilities.

Having undertaken many courses in writing and poetry over the years Jennifer has a vast knowledge in the field of writing and reviewing, being able to provide an efficient, effective and professional service. As a qualified Early Childhood Educator and a home educating mum with over 16 years experience, she has a passion for quality children's books and educational resources.

Having spent 6 years as the founder and managing editor of two magazines, Good Gabble and Rattling Reviews, Jennifer has an eye for marketing and sales, knowing what the consumer is looking for and how to reach them. She works individually with each client meeting their needs and the needs of their product. She has many years experience in critiquing websites, placing herself in the shoes of the consumer who is browsing. Many clients return time and time again knowing they will be receiving an honest, open and non judgmental review or critique. Jennifer prides herself on providing a friendly, non threatening and personal service. Her clients are able to contact her personally throughout the whole review process.


For further information on the services Jennifer offers please visit her website www.jenniferdouglasliterarypublicist.com. This blog is a review base only.




Tuesday, December 11, 2012

A Teaser!

Book reviews are currently being written on these books. Keep an eye on this page for the reviews.

What are you reading at the moment? Have you read any of the books I have reviewed?

I love to hear from others so please comment.


I Made Lattes for a Love God ~ Wendy Harmer






 'Elly Pickering has a juicy secret. A secret her PR mum won't let her tell anyone because if the kids at Oldcastle High knew that mega-star Jake Blake ( yes, THE Jake Blake, teen sensation and all-round heart-throb) was coming to Oldcastle to film his latest movie, they might just explode with excitement.

Elly is determined to get on set and to get more than a glimpse of her Hollywood crush. But now, thanks to an unfortunate incident involving a car, a huge red handbag and the paparazzi, it looks like Elly has lost a lot more than her opportunity to be close to Hollywood royalty. She's lost her dignity, her job and her best friend. How can she get everything back to normal?'


In I Made Lattes for a Love God Wendy Harmer has included it all. Romance, suspense, humor, reality and the heart-throb, over dramatic world of teenager girls.  Throw in environmental issues and the need to be green, the trials and tribulations of teen friendship and relationships and the use of text talk and you have a book that is sure to be a hit with young females. This is the second YA Novel by  Wendy Harmer following I Lost My Mobile At The Mall, and again we see ourselves on an adventure with Elly Pickering. I Made Lattes for a Love God continues the humorous tone of her previous novel and builds a cult following of a character full of innocence, desires, fun and family. Harmless, realistic reading that allows one to become consumed by the fantasy within.

As a mature adult I must admit that I found I Made Lattes for a Love God a little slow and boring at times but once I rezoned myself into the teenage world I became to understand where Wendy Harmer was taking the plot and the appeal this book would have to the teenager today. As a parent it was nice to see issues of today's society hidden amongst the book, securing it's place in the market. I felt confident that I could hand this book to any young adult knowing that I was providing a safe haven that would encourage  relaxation and reading. 

I Made Lattes for a Love God is about finding yourself in a teenage world. The struggles of acceptance, bullying, friends, dating, love and loneliness, change, family, unity, trust and honesty, all in a non threatening, non challenging environment. In 254 pages Wendy Harmer has achieved creating a journey with Elly Pickering that will leave thought, inspiration and meaning within the reader.

Above all I Made Lattes for a Love God is easy to follow, well written and very Australian. The characters are easy to relate to and realistic. After all aren't all parents embarrassing? Don't all dads have daggy jokes?  A recommended and enjoyable read for any YA novel fan.


Review: Jennifer Deaves

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Cool Dogs




They say dogs are man's best friend so this Christmas why not treat your best friend to a gift from cooldogs.com.au.  Nominated for the dog retailer award 2012, they are sure to have all your dogs needs covered.

With a continuous turnover of new and unique products Cool Dogs is an online store that you will return to time and time again. We found their range of products to be vast, covering the health and hygiene of your dog to the leisure and comfort. They have also thought of you, the owner, and your need for products that make your life with your furry friend that little bit easier. There is the car seat covers, saving you time with cleaning or the dog stickers announcing your love for your pooch. Trying to train your dog?  Pop on over to Cool Dogs and check out their range of dog training solutions.

Cool Dogs realise that you want your time with your dog to be enjoyable and that dogs also like a little fun in their lives. With this in mind they provide a large range of dog toys, from plush toys to ropes and  freezable toys for cool summer fun.

After playing with your dog on a warm day it is important to give them somewhere cool to lay and recuperate. We trial ran the pet cooling mat which is perfect for just this situation. Filled with polyurethane foam filler/CMC/polymer absorber this vinyl mat does not need filling with water nor does it need electricity. The weight of your dog is all that is needed. The gel in the mat absorbs the pets body heat sending it out into the environment. Made of vinyl the mat is easy to clean, with a simple wipe of a damp cloth. We did find that it was more appealing to our dogs with thin material thrown over the top as they were not keen on the vinyl feel, with the material giving it the familiarity of their dog blanket. This did not seem to take away from the cooling effect. Although we used this mat in a home environment it would also be  ideal used in the car to keep your dog cool on a long trip or when out and about visiting. The mat folds well making it very portable. The one size fits all, L90 x W50 x H 1 cm, makes this mat suitable for most breeds of dogs. We trial ran ours on a poodle and a labrador and it was a perfect size for both. One concern we did have was that it is slippery if stepped on by a human and can be quiet dangerous. It needs to be placed where it is out of the way of human traffic and especially where there is no risk of children or the elderly walking on it.

Why not buy a cool mat and place it in your car on a pet car seat cover? We trial ran two covers, the exclusive seat cover and the general cover. The main difference in the two was that the exclusive seat cover is a cubicle shaped seat cover that protects the sides of your car. A great idea for the dog who loves to hang out the window. One disadvantage we did find with the exclusive cover was there was no way to secure your dog to your car seat belt once the mat was placed on the seat as it covered the seat belts. The general cover allowed for this with velcro spacing holes for the seatbelt/harness. With it being law in most states of Australia that your dog be belted in this was definitely a benefit with the general cover.

Both covers were easy to install, clipping to your car seat head rests, fastening to prevent them from bundling up and moving around. Both covers are waterproof and easy to wipe clean. We included our dogs mats over the cover to allow for comfort. This did not take away from the protect the mats gave to our car. Hooks in our station wagon allowed us to use the exclusive cover over the back, keeping our car clean and allowing us to accommodate both the kids and our furry friends.


All products we tested from Cool Dogs were found to be of high quality and value for money. They were packaged and shipped professionally and on time. They were all as pictured or described on the site, with any questions we had being answered efficiently.

Looking for a party outfit for your beloved companion during this Christmas festive season. Cooldogs.com.au have a great range of hats, fancy collars and outfits that will have everyone admiring your pooch. Why not place a Christmas stocking for your pet under your tree this year?

Check out the great range and specials on offer at www.cooldogs.com.au










Constant Motion - Mikey Wax

Mikey Wax, a pianist, guitarist and singer/songwriter from Long Island New York, is making his mark on the music industry and shows no sign of slowing down. In September this year his album Constant Motion turned 1 year old. With his song, Counting On You, recently featuring on final episodes of So You Think You Can Dance in America and now being used for the trailer of the movie 'Playing For Keeps' starring Gerrard Butler, Jessica Biel, Dennis Quaid & Catherine Zeta-Jones, which has a release date of December 7 in America, the sounds of Mikey Wax are only growing. 

The first time I heard of Mikey Wax was when I saw a post by him on a forum I am a member of, this announcing the use of his song on So You Think You Can Dance. I jumped on line. I had a listen. Liking what I initially heard  I became curious about this artist that is virtually unknown in Australia. Over a month later the album Constant Motion is on my list of one of the most played albums.

Mikey's 'boy next door' image carries through into his pop/rock music. At times rugged and unshaven, Mikey Wax has an appeal that speaks sophistication and style. His music has the ability to make all in the room sway, dance and sing. Easy listening, toe tapping yet boppy, the music of Mikey Wax has a soulful relaxing sound, with lyrics that speak of life and love. Constant Motion is a befitting title for this album, with your body moving in constant motion and your mind traveling with the lyrics.

When Constant Motion landed in my letterbox even my 19 year old was intrigued. “Who is this man?” was her initial comment with “ I must go and find out more” following as she left the room to google this half a face that touched her heart with his sexy demeanour. All this before she had heard the music.

The cover of Constant Motion has that mysterious effect on you. With it's modern layout of simplicity it leaves you wanting to hear what it is all about. The cover opens itself to discussion and an individual perspective on what it is portraying and what is meant by Constant Motion, leading to the music that opens further thought.

Constant Motion is the third album for Mikey Wax. His first album  “Change again”  was released in 2008, ranking on the iTunes top 100 pop albums in the US, UK, Canada and Australia. This was followed in April 2010 by "The Traveler" which received over 10,000 downloads and contributed to Mikey now hosting over 100,000 fans combined via Facebook, Twitter, MySpace and YouTube. Constant Motion has since been followed with the release of the holiday album “ And A Happy New Year” on 6th  November.

At only 26 years of age Mikey Wax has a bright music future ahead of him. With a growing fan base and popular sound the name of Mikey Wax will soon be one frequently spoken worldwide in the music industry.

Listen to Mikey Wax at www.mikeywax.com

Join him on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mikeywax?ref=ts&fref=ts

                    Twitter: https://twitter.com/MikeyWax

view and listen on You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/user/MikeyWaxMusic?feature=watch
All of Mikey's albums can be found on iTunes. https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/mikey-wax/id295368889









Early Start First Dough

* As published in Rattling Reviews November 2012







Early Start First Dough is designed with the little one in mind. Suitable for children 2-4 years it is non toxic,  organic and vegetable based,  allowing for  safe use at an age where the mouth is often used as a major source of exploring. Made by Micador this dough is 100% Australian owned and designed. We reviewed a tub that consisted of 4 x 125gm pastel colours of dough which were all packed in individual bags. We found this, and the fact that the tub is airtight, a great benefit for storage.

We loved the texture of this dough. It is soft and easily pliable. It does not stick to the hands like some doughs but leaves them feeling moisturized. Although organic it does still have the plastic smell to it but we felt this did not take away from the soft feel that is carried through to the pastel colours. This is definitely an appealing looking and feeling dough.

Used time and time again Early Start First Dough lived up to the expectations of lasting. We did find it stuck to the table slightly and felt a need to keep it clear of any carpets, but did not find that this sticking meant we lost much of the product each use. We did not store our dough in the fridge, choosing instead to place it back in the individual plastic bags and then in the airtight container. We found it stored wonderfully and a month later was still as soft and pliable as day one.

Used alone or teamed up with dough utensils Early Start First Dough is a great safe introduction to dough for your little one, providing many hours of developmental learning. Strengthening fingers and hands, playdough helps children develop fine motor skills which leads to the development of  muscles used for early writing and scissor use. When interacting with your child there is the development of co operation, communication skills,  colour recognition and maths concepts. With playdough being an activity of relaxation it offers the opportunity as a stress reliever during tired or uncontrollable moments, and what toddler doesn't have these .

Early Start First Dough
is very versatile, lending itself to all age groups. We found the older children, and adults, enjoyed this dough just as much as the 2-4 year age range. This allowed peer interaction and role modeling. Our team of  various aged reviewers squashed, squeezed, rolled, flattened, chopped, cut, scored, raked, punched, poked and shredded this dough time and time again providing hours of discussion, fun and learning experiences. Early Start First Dough lent itself to hours of investigative play and endless opportunities. For our younger audience the joy of touching was often enough with our older audience engaging in a wide range of curriculum activities which included language, maths, and science exploration.

Discovery, exploration and hands on experiences play a vital role in the development and learning of our children. Not only does Early Start First Dough open itself to all areas of development and learning but provides fun experiences and memories that lead to a life long love of learning.

Early Start First Dough
is available online from Modern Teaching Aids,the Online Teaching Resource Superstore,where the teachers shop for teaching resources.  Visit them today for over 10,000 teaching resources covering the areas of Babies & Toddlers, Art & Craft, Maths, English,Science,Explore & Discover, Play and Music & Dance. www.teaching.com.au










Because I Love You by Barbara Toner









' What daughter doesn't need advice? What mother can't give it? Whether she's 18 or 81 a daughter can always benefit from a second opinion on the condition of her soul, her heart, her head, her hair, her cleavage. Also her loves, her hates, her dreams, her debts, her teeth and sexting. No second opinion will be more valuable that her mother's because it will be offered with love tempered by wisdom and in the certain knowledge that without it this daughter will end her days on the streets, in the gutter, with spoilt children, gum diseas and bosom droop.

Barbara Toner acknowledges the universal truth that advice should only ever be offered if sought. She's chosen to ignore it, as any self-respecting mother should, in this heartfelt address to her own three daughters. The result is an indispensable guide to be shared by mothers and daughters of all ages everywhere.'

Because I love you is a beautifully presented hard covered book that has a feminine gentle look about it that is modern, stylish and sleek. From the shelf it will draw your attention, calling you to open its cover and absorb its words, but that is where it started and ended for me.

It is not very often I am drawn to a book by its cover alone. Usually the title will engross me and the back blurb with keep my interest intact, leading to a love of the book from beginning to end, but with Because I Love You by Barbara Toner I was lost at the first page. As a mother of two daughters I will admit that the title is catchy and the back blurb is enticing, what mother doesn't want to hand a bit of wisdom and advice to their daughter, but I am sorry Barbara I couldn't quiet work out what you were getting at with this book or even the reason it was published.

From the first paragraph I was scratching my head trying to work out whether Barbara Toner was being serious or trying to write a book of humour. I was tempted by page 5 to put the book down and declare I could not read it but continued to the end seeking the answer to my questions of who would read this book? What is the book trying to portray? And Why publish this book?

Don't get me wrong Barbara Toner can write. Her words flow beautifully and the overall content makes sense but I found the advice she gave to be condescending and belittling toward her daughters at times. I soon realised that this was Barbara's dry sense of humour. I did laugh a couple of times and I did agree with Barbara a couple of times in jest but this book is not something I would give to my daughters in order to give them advice. Not sure whether Because I Love You is meant to be read by the mother's or given to the daughters. It mentions that this book is a heartfelt address by Barbara to her three daughters. Maybe one needs to know Barbara and her daughters to fully understand it.

When logging the book into Goodreads.com and giving it three stars I noticed that everyone else who had read it had given it three stars or less as well.

Giving it only two stars Suzanne Landstrom writes “ This is a tongue-in-cheek, dry humor sort-of-book. Light reading - not much depth to it - but okay to pass the time with.”

Because I Love You by Barbara Toner is sure to open itself to a bit of conversation as readers discuss how they felt about it and try to work it out. As an avid reader who loves to explore words and travel the journey of a book of any genre it is not often I can honestly say I wouldn't bother but sorry Barbara Toner Because I Love You has just been placed on my list of books to be read if one really has nothing better.

review: Jennifer Deaves

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Earth Greetings


A visit to earthgreetings.com.au is a visit to nature, where you know all products have stepped lightly on the environment, leaving as little of an impact as possible. All products are created from Australian made paper, being 100% post consumer recycled and 100% earth friendly.

Earth Greetings is the brain child of Heide Hackworth, a Creative Director from Adelaide, South Australia, who decided to try out a creative idea publishing her nature-inspired designs on to greeting cards. This lead to  a vast range of paper products, from gift cards and wrapping paper to stickers, party invitations, notebooks, writing sets and pens.

With Christmas upon us we trial ran a box of  Earth Greeting Christmas Cards. The box consists of 10 blank Christmas cards, 2 of each design, with envelopes. The cards are printed carbon neutral using vegetable based ink which maintains a rustic Australian countryside look with simplicity. The natural brown undertone sets the scene for a soft relaxed card that opens itself to a message of Christmas love. Simple greetings of Joy, Season's Greetings, Peace on Earth, Peace and Season's Tweetings, for a bird based theme, allow a non denomination blessing suitable for all your family and friends. With the envelope being the first thing one see's when they receive their card it is nice to see the recycled message put forward in the initial presentation, with the envelopes being made from brown 100% post-consumer recycled paper.

With an Australian theme of native fauna and flora, Earth Greetings Christmas cards lend themselves nicely to being that of a card to be sent overseas. When you send an Earth Greetings Christmas card you are not only sharing a little piece of nature but are showing the rest of the world that we are environmentally friendly and care.

Earth Greetings not only produce an Australian made, earth friendly product but are donating part of their sales to Trees For Life. For every box of Christmas Cards sold $1.65 goes to Trees For Life, leading to the planting of a tree. To date Earth Greetings have planted 27,000 trees through sales of these cards. Trees For Life grow around 1 million seedlings every year and protect over 3500 hectares of native bushland. Find out more about Trees For Life and how you can help at www.treesforlife.org.au.

Above all we found Earth Greetings Christmas Cards to be beautifully boxed. They are a high quality product that presents nicely. The envelopes are a good size in relation to the card with the card sliding in and out with ease. When purchasing your greeting cards, and other paper products, from Earth Greetings you are shopping with a guilt free conscience, knowing you are caring for mother nature in the best way possible, paying her back for the beauty she provides us daily.

For further details and to find a stockist near you visit: www.earthgreetings.com.au


Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Masha by Prep

* As published in Nov 2012 Rattling Reviews Magazine


What!” I hear you saying, “Someone is actually marketing an appliance that mashes potato.” These were the thoughts of those in the office when we first heard of Masha by Prep. We were skeptical so I quickly made contact with Ian at prepstore.com.au. I must admit I became a little excited when he said he would gladly send me a Masha to try, there was a sort of mystery about this product that we could not explain.

What an amazing little unit it is! The box states 'Perfect mashed potatoes or vegetables in seconds' and so right they are. We set about mashing everything we could think of  and with ease and success each time. 'Consistent results with no lumps' they say, and again so right they are. We were amazed at how smooth each product became in such a quick time. The Rotor-Cone technology makes mashing food effortless, with no need for force or strain on the wrist. This product is ideal for the elderly or disabled. It is simple to use with the push of a single button that is perfectly positioned in relation to grip.  The ergonomic design, non-slip handgrip and balanced weight distribution makes the Masha by Prep safe and user friendly.

Better still Masha by Prep is easy to clean. All one need do is turn it off at the power point, remove the mashing head by the simple press of a button, which again requires no pressure, and rinse. The rotor blade can also be remove from the mashing head by simply rotating it anti-clockwise. Reassembly  is as quick and easy as the cleaning process. It is mentioned online that the Masha head and rotor blade are dishwasher safe. We did not test this but feel that this is just another added bonus that makes use even easier. We found this product to be as easy to use and clean as seen on the online video. There   were  found to be no catches, gimmicks or false advertising.

The Masha by Prep is  a perfect unit that took us by surprise. It is important to note here that we made contact with Prep seeking a Masha to review  and were not paid in any way to write this review. Our interest in the Masha lead us to discovering an appliance that is versatile, easy to use and is quickly becoming one of the most used appliances we have.

From mashing potato, pumpkin, carrots, avocado, banana, apple and pear, we ended up with mashed food that the kids loved and adults were amazed by. Making smooth vegetable soup was a breeze. Do you have a baby? Grab a Masha and say goodbye to the store purchased baby food. Starting baby straight onto home cooked healthy meals has never been easier. The Masha eliminates all lumps leaving food a smooth consistency every time, and all in a matter of seconds, leaving you free time to spend with your precious one. Mash a batch and  pop it in the freezer, saving money, time and leaving you with a guilt free conscience, knowing you are feeding baby only the best.

Designed in Australia the Masha by Prep retails at $69.95 and is available online or from Harvey Norman, Myer or Big W. The Masha is a product that is designed to last making it the gift that just keeps on giving.

Find out more online at: www.prepstore.com.au



Masha by Prep  




review: Jennifer Deaves

Photography: Sam Lo Photography

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Not Your Mother's Book...On Being a Woman


 

A collection of Stories from People Like You

Created by Dahlynn McKowen and Ken McKowen

“Not Your Mother's Book....On Being a Woman is a better PMS cure than chocolate, and with no calories!” ~ Jennifer Deaves

Not Your Mother's Book...On Being a Woman is a collection of short stories that had me laughing so hard I was nearly wetting myself. Is it scary that I can relate to these woman's experiences?, was one thought going through my head, whilst the other yelled “Yes I am normal, I am woman”.

Within this book Dahlynn McKowen and Ken McKowen have created a celebration of what being a woman is all about. A celebration of true womanhood with all it's lumps, bumps, oops and oh no's!. A book that woman will instantly relate to and men will shake their heads at, turning pages wondering how woman can be so stupid yet honest, lovable and deliciously hilarious.

This is the first book in the anthology titled Not Your Mother's Book...a series that I am sure all will soon be talking about. If you love Chicken Soup for the Soul then this anthology will surely blow your mind. Dahlynn and Ken McKowen spent 10 years as Chicken Soup for the Soul co authors/editors before launching Not Your Mother's Book. With another 30 plus books in this anthology under development there is sure to be plenty of laughter and love filling homes worldwide.

When reading Not Your Mother's Book....On Being a Woman I kept feeling there was a magic ingredient that drew me to the book, not wanting to put it down just in case I missed something. Unlike a novel there really is no chance of missing out on anything as each individual short story carries a mystery and charm of it's own, yet I could not shake this page turning, what could possibly happen next feeling. There was a feel good, are these woman for real, feeling behind this immense desire to turn pages. Or was it an immense desire to feel normal, accepted and just like every other woman.

Not Your Mother's Book...On Being a Woman is nicely set out, consisting of eight chapters which contain eight stories each. Being short stories this book fits itself well to being read anywhere and at anytime you need a quick feel good,belly laugh, pick me up. It seems as though every silly scenario a women has been in is depicted within this book. From clothing to weight, food, boobs, bums, age,husbands and those little moments that tickle us, Not Your Mother's Book....On Being a Woman has it covered.

If I had to write one negative thing about this book then I would have to say that it was painful – as the stitches in my side ached, my facial muscles spasmed and my belly hurt due to laughter. Where is the warning on this book ~ “Warning: care should be taken whilst reading this book. Sitting is preferred to standing, with cushions propped strategically around the body to soften falls which may be caused by laughter. No responsibility is taken for any injuries sustained during reading...or death by laughter.”

On a Serious note 10/10 to Dahlynn and Ken McKowen for Not Your Mother's Book...On Being a Woman.

Available now at www.Amazon.com I recommend all grab a copy of this book and find their inner goddess, the one full of reality and good times.

ISBN: 978-1-938778-00-1
www.publishingsyndicate.com


Review: Jennifer Deaves

Monday, November 5, 2012

Today's Post

Below are the books that arrived in today's post. These are being reviewed for Allen and Unwin. They join the pile of books that currently sit on my desk. Keep an eye on this site for my reviews.

I am currently writing reviews on the following books which should be online mid next week.

The Monogamy Gap by Eric Anderson

Running To Extremes by Lisa Tamati

The Moon Shines Out of the Dark by Stephanie Duowrick. Illustrations by Anne Spudvilas

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

I Made Lattes for a Love God by Wendy Harmer


Monday, October 1, 2012

'Carried Away' - Melody Moon



*as published in Issue 7 Rattling Reviews Magazine




Carried Away is the second CD by Melody Moon, following 'Little Hopes'. Once again Melody woo's her audience with her soulful voice, relaxed disposition and moving tone.

There are no words that clearly describe the wonderful, serene and heavenly feelings this Australian Alternative Folk singer/songwriter leaves you with or the places she takes you. Melody Moon has a voice that floats around your aura placing you in a surreal moment of relaxation and pleasure. Two words that constantly come to my mind are floaty and dreamy. As her CD spins around I take in every word and sway to every beat in a dreamy, floaty, relaxed, hypnotized state. I  imagine lying on a cloud listening and loving, being 'carried away' to Melody's world of nature, happy thoughts and bouncy beautiful belongings. This album has rightfully been named.

Melody Moon has a sweet distinctive voice. Accompanied with the sounds of guitar, cello, ukelele, glockenspiel, trumpet, double bass and drums she fills your heart with love and respect for nature, life and those around you. To be in a room with Melody Moon is to feel her honest presence and her heartfelt love for life. Melody Moon is a blissful breath of fresh air in an industry that often gets 'carried away' with the hype and hysteria of  teenage cult and fan based following.

Beautifully presented, the cover art to 'Carried Away' compliments the album. It places you in the floaty, relaxed mood that is within found its sound. With its natural colour tone and use of nature it shows the true personality of this artist that will soon be in demand at all local venues and festivals. Melody Moon is currently captivating her audience as she tours Australia, leaving all touched to the core of their soul.

For further details on Melody Moon, tour dates and to purchase her two CD's visit www.melodymoon.com.au

Review: Jennifer Deaves

five:am

*as published in issue 7 Sept 2012 Rattling Reviews Magazine


Rattling Reviews Magazine  



Organically Teasing and Tantalizing the Tastebuds

Waking up at five am is not for everyone but with the five:am organic yoghurt range mornings are surely made easier.

Surfer and long time yogi David Prior was inspired to create a product that allowed him to have a clear ecological conscience during one of his early morning moments of clarity. Thus was born five:am – the new purely organic yoghurt range that preserves the environment through every aspect of the production process.

“It’s just as much about what’s not in our food as what’s in it – there are no hormones, antibiotics, herbicides or pesticides used in our yoghurts. Better yet, five:am allows indulgence without regret as part of a healthy, active lifestyle,” says the chief yoghurt dude.

The range boasts six delicious flavours including vanilla bean, Greek style and low-fat mango prepared to perfection within the uncompromising confines of a natural manufacturing process.

The yoghurteers behind the latest organic offering have refined their yoghurt technique to create yoghurts free from gluten, gelatine, preservatives and starches with no artificial colours, flavours, stabilisers or sweeteners.

Proudly Australian owned and operated, five:am uses only the best natural and organic ingredients, sourced locally from fourth generation West Gippsland farmers Peter and Wendy Wallace.

Not surprisingly, the Wallace’s daily routine starts around 5AM also, as they prepare to milk the 160 Friesian cows that roam freely around the farm, helping themselves to minerals found at the “breakfast bar” on the sprawling property. The cows are so much a part of the family that each has its own name.

This self-serve philosophy is one of the key differences between milk (and ultimately yoghurt) provided from organic farms.

“Cows know what they need. They’ll go and select herbs and minerals that have the nutrients they need to ensure themselves and their milk are healthy,” says master milk maiden Wendy Wallace.

“For us, organic farming is about remembering how our grandfathers generation farmed, rather than implementing new technology. It’s about getting back to nature, understanding how it works and how to work for it.”

“The milk our cows produce each day has the same cream component as conventional milk minus the toxins, meaning they don’t end up in people’s cereal bowls. Yoghurt lovers will notice the difference in the richness and freshness straight away” she explains.

Prior agrees, noting, “not all yoghurts are created equal. The power of pure, organic yoghurt is to indulge without regret.”


OMG! I am in coffee heaven, where my first reactions when I tried the five:am coffee bean organic yoghurt. Soft on my palette yet aromatically tantalizing the yoghurt danced on my tongue as the coffee flavour hit the spot. What a way to start the day or brighten it mid way with a natural high, without the guilt. Five:am Coffee Bean organic yoghurt provides the smell of a fresh cup of coffee, teasing your nose follicles as you eat. I found the individual serving of 170g just enough to satisfy the stomach and leave me with the feeling of 'aaah! That was good'.

With my five:am coffee bean experience sitting freshly on my mind I felt a need to explore the full range on offer. Not to be disappointed I soon went from flavour to flavour. From Strawberry to Vanilla Bean, Honey + Cinnamon and Natural, I found them all to be soft on the palette with just the right amount of flavour. Five:am organic yoghurt was enjoyed by my whole family. With the new squeezy range now in stores even the little ones can get their taste buds tantalized. My five year old kept coming back for more and more, to the stage that I had have to limit the amount she can have a day.

So what did some of our Rattling Reviews team have to say about five:am.

“ A smooth, light and tasty texture. Being lactose intolerant I don't eat a lot of yoghurt but the five:am coffee bean yoghurt left me cursing my intolerance, wanting to be able to experience the guilt free indulgence time and time again” - Samantha Lo

“I am a regular yoghurt eater, usually making my own. I thought five:am was very smooth and creamy. I liked the vanilla bean and natural best. The strawberry was nice as was the Honey + Cinnamon but I wouldn't eat the coffee bean because I am not a coffee drinker. I look forward to trying the natural yogurt in some recipes.”- Joan McNamara


“I am not a yoghurt eater so was not keen to try five:am. To my surprise I quiet enjoyed the taste and texture, with the vanilla bean and natural being the best.  Five:am have changed my  ideas about yoghurt.  I can confidently say I would be satisfied eating five:am one on a regular basis.” - Terry McNamara


Flavours and sizing ranges from the 700gram tubs (RRP$6.49) of Vanilla Bean, Honey + Cinnamon, Natural and Greek style through to the delicious 170gram Low Fat Strawberry, Honey + Cinnamon, Low Fat Mango, Low Fat Blueberry, Vanilla Bean and Coffee Bean (RRP$2.29). All packaging is 100 per cent recyclable.



A visit to the five:am website leads to another experience that takes you on the journey from the concept to the yoghurt birth.  We found the website to be bright and bubbly whilst being  factual, funny and informative. Our visit left us feeling very welcome and confident in the product we were buying. By the time we left  we felt that we had personally grown to know both the owner and company and that our choice to buy organic, and five:am, was one that would not only benefit us health wise but benefit   our  whole family and the environment as well. As stated on the website “ Healthy people, healthy planet”

Another bonus to the website was the recipe tab. Here one can find tasty ideas that cover all meals of the day; breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. All recipes use natural wholesome ingredients that can easily be purchased at the grocery store.

Making five:am part of your daily ritual is making a healthy organic choice that not only benefits body and mind but keeps your taste buds dancing the day away.



five:am is available for purchase exclusively at Woolworths, Safeway and Thomas Dux grocers in NSW, Victoria, Queensland and South Australia.

For more information visit www.fiveam.com.au, join them on facebook www.facebook.com/fiveamyoghurt or follow them on twitter at www.twitter.com/fiveamyoghurt

article: Jennifer Deaves
          

photos: Sharyn Cairns, Andrew Maccoll and Martyn Miller




Podee BPA Baby Bottle


Reducing colic and ear infections in babies

The day you have been dreaming of has arrived. Your bundle of joy is in your arms and you are finally home to start your life together.  All goes well for a while until the colic sets in, the screaming begins and you, as a mum, feel helpless. Any mum who has experienced a baby with colic, or ear infections, knows only too well how miserable it makes bubs, and mum. It is a trying time for both. One that finds you searching the internet and trying any remedy on offer, just so you can have a nights sleep.

The Podee BPA Baby Bottle may be the answer to your prayers. The Podee allows you to feed baby in an upright position, reducing colic and reflux by preventing air from entering. Pediatricians also recommend feeding your baby in an upright position to prevent ear infections. The Podee BPA Baby Bottle is a hands free system that is ideal for the parent of multiple babies or of a child with special needs.




We trial ran the twin pack of Podee Baby Bottles which we found to be of a good size ( 240mls each ) and well made. The plastic has a smooth feel to it and is shaped to fit nicely in the hand. Being able to be used as a held ( will not relieve colic ) or hands free bottle leads itself to versatility. With the bottles meeting all safety standards and being lead free, PVC free and BPA free you are guaranteed you are using a product that will leave your baby safe and happy.


Our team of review mothers where divided in their feelings about this bottle. They loved the idea and  colic free device but wondered if it could lead to the loss of bonding and contact with the child if taken advantage of. Feeding is one of the joyous times between child and mum. There is the cuddles, eye contact, talking and caressing. Although a great tool that is definitely needed on the bottle market, relieving the debilitating pain of colic, could it be overused by those who do not need it for medical reasons but see it as freedom for themselves?  This, of course, is not something that individuals or the bottle manufacturers can  control and does not reflect on the Podee Bottle itself but is something our reviewers, as mothers, hoped would not happen.

The bottle system was given to each  individual reviewer with the instruction paper and they were asked to put the hands free feeding system together. All struggled at first but agreed that once they had done it once it would be a breeze there after. Some stated they felt all the parts and tubing would be annoying to have to carry around if going out for the day it was a unanimous agreement that for the sake of the comfort of their child this would not stop them from buying the system, mum's will always put health and welfare of their child first.

The Podee Baby Bottle Twin pack consists of two plastic baby bottles, 2 adapters, 2 disks, 2 nipples, 2 cap rings, 2 6.5” plastic tubes, 2 11.5” plastic tubes, 2 nipple covers and 1 tube cleaning brush. It is a complete kit that once sterilized has you ready for a comfortable upright feed where ever you are. We found it easy to use, in the car, at a friends, in the pram and even whilst shopping. Used with the long tube it is ideal for the young baby and can continue to be used when the child is a toddler using the shorter tube for colic relief or if the child is now colic free as a normal feeding bottle. 



Overall we were impressed with this system and can see the huge relief it will provide to many families. We found it easy to use once assembled, with no extra sucking effort required by the child to get the liquid to the teat through the extra tubing. We found it suitable for water, juice, breast milk and formula. Packaged and presented in a box as a complete kit it would make the ideal gift. It can be purchased at a cost of $34 from  www.blamethebaby.com.au .

Also available:

Podee medicator - a great little attachment to pop onto the end of a medication syringe so that your little one can easily take their medicine through a standard teat instead of trying to suck it in off a syringe. No more drips and no more tears.

Podee bottle insulator and holder - suitable for any standard sized baby bottle! Quality insulator with a gorgeous teddy to keep your baby happy and peaceful.






Friday, August 31, 2012

QToys

* As seen in Issue 5 January 2012 Rattling Reviews Magazine.




Educating Our Children Through Play-based Activities

The Quins Group is a Melbourne-based, Australian owned company who are leading the way in supplying educational toys, teaching equipment and furniture to our early childhood market. With a variety of toys suiting birth to seven years, Q Toys are ensuring that children in our schools and child care centres receive the developmental stimulation through play-based learning that is required to give them the best start in life.

Originally founded by Dr. Quan Nguyen and Cathy Dang, M.Ed, Q Toys has grown over the years to include artists, teachers, engineers and industrial designers, who's expertise and experiences help them to blend the educational value of toys, fun and childhood imagination with high quality timber design. All Q Toys products are eco-friendly being made from plantation timber off recycled rubber trees. All designs are crafted by highly skilled craftsmen and have a specific educational function in order to foster children's physical and mental development. All products carry a 12 month from date of purchase warranty.

We couldn't be more impressed with Q Toys when we trial ran the Stacking Pegs Board. This consists of a wooden base board with 5 rows of different coloured shapes consisting of 20 pegs in total. The feel and consistency of  the wood was one that was smooth, glossy and very appealing. The printed shapes at the beginning of each row where clear with no missing paint. We found the Stacking Pegs Board to be a high quality and value for money toy. We were shocked at the price of only $19.95 wholesale.

We tested the peg board with a 4 year old and found it met both her expectations and those of the educational value we placed upon it. There were a number of learning values in this toy, from shape recognition, colour, stacking, counting, comparison, sorting and problem solving. Interaction with an adult promoted language and numeracy skills and provided opportunity for forward planning and memory recall. The Stacking Pegs Board soon became a favourite that was manipulated each day. To date it has stood to the challenge showing no chips to the paint or wood and holding the as new look. At no time has there been any risk of splintering of the wood causing harm to the child.

After further research into the toys provided by Q Toys we found all products to be of high standard and as described. We can happily say we feel that Q Toys are meeting their mission of designing and manufacturing products that are instrumental to physical and mental development of children from birth to seven years old. We found all toys to comply with the Australian and New Zealand toys safety standards as stated on the site. We did not find any evidence of toys or equipment which would place a child at risk.

For further information on Q Toys and to find a stockist in your area visit www.qtoys.com.au

article: Jennifer Deaves

Does God Give Us More Than We Can Bear? by Jerry Smith

'The child of a raped housekeeper who was deaf, mute, and poor, Jerry Smith had trouble before he even started. Does God Give Us More Than We Can Bear? takes readers through disappointments and failures as Jerry does his best to battle overwhelming odds with a deck seemingly stacked against him. Did God give Jerry more than he could bear? As an aging Jerry ponders this very question, he is diagnosed with an untreatable and terminal lung disease. With nowhere left to turn and a deadline with fate, God then reveals his plan for Jerry's life. Now, cured of his previously incurable disease but still suffering the damage caused, Jerry has been given new direction and shares with readers his struggles, stories and wisdom. In these recollections, he reveals hope, a light for the darkest days, years, and even decades. Jerry's story is the perfect example of how God will use anything for good, even when it seems most unlikely. He now lives to share his story, the hope he has, and how the lessons learned can change lives.'

This little package of a book is an easy to read account of one mans journey to answer his question Does God Give Us More Than We Can Bear? This journey has lead to Jerry Smith being able to awake each morning saying “ Wow! Its great to be alive.”

As one who does not find themselves using the word God in their vocabulary on a regular basis I first read the title of this book and wonder if the religious connotation may mean that the contents were based on ones religious views. I hesitantly began reading and found that I was soon wrong. This book is suitable for all regardless of beliefs or culture.

What would you do if you were diagnosed with lung cancer and told you had a life expectancy of 6 months to 2 years? Once the shock, anger, rage and fear wore off would you accept your fate or seek all treatment possible hoping for a better outcome? The later is exactly what Jerry Smith did and today he lives to tell the story of his life, instilling hope and empowerment into others.

As I read I realised that no matter what upbringing we have and no matter where we come from we can rise above our hardships and misfortunes and follow our dreams and happiness. It is often in hard times that we stop and reassess our life and outlook. When given his 'sentence of death' this was exactly what Jerry Smith did. When he looked back on his life he realised that he never really had a sense of purpose. He states that since writing this book his life has been a continued journey in which he explores new paths daily.

Does God Give Us More Than We Can Bear? by Jerry Smith is easy to read and, being smaller than the normal paperback, fits snuggly into the handbag or briefcase for reading at any location. It is not just a book but a book with a message that one man needed to tell and, being in its second edition, many needed to hear.

ISBN: 978-1-6346-596-7

Available online at:www.tatepublishing.com

Jerry Smith can be found at: www.jerrysmith.org

Review: Jennifer Deaves



Oz Web Rewards

* As published in Rattling Reviews

Promoting Australian-based websites to Australian Consumers




Oz Web Rewards is a new innovative site that is providing the consumer with a one stop place to shop. With just the click of their mouse the consumer has access to many shopping sites and, best of all, are rewarded by Oz Web Rewards for shopping.

Joining Oz Web Rewards is a simple process taking only a minute. Email verification is required but this process was instant. We loved the variety of products we found on this site and the fact that we are supporting Australian-based companies. As we browsed we found we were able to meet the needs of the whole family with the availability of food and alcohol, clothes, accessories, household goods, lingerie, arts and crafts, electronics and games and entertainment. Navigation and access was easy and quick with all merchant sites being of high standard with quick download.

Oz Web Rewards is still growing their merchant list but already provide a professional standard. With a clear logo that can be found on the sites of their partnered merchants it is clear to the consumer that they are dealing with two companies that are linked and that their Oz Web Reward points are only a click away.

The rewards system at Oz Web Rewards is simple. When you complete a transaction from a merchant affiliated with Oz Rewards you earn 5% of the sales price in points. Oz Web Rewards allows you to shop over a large array of independent stores and accumulate your points. The more you shop the more your points grow. When you are ready, or have enough points, you simply log into Oz Web Rewards and choose your gift from the large array of products. Oz Web Rewards is free with no catches or gimmicks and best of all they are providing a great service to both consumer and merchant. Merchant support and easy contact information make dealing with this company a pleasurable experience. They recognise the importance of the 'little ' man in business and the importance of supporting fellow Australians.

Oz Web Reward is about uniting Australian-based business's and consumers through a free, no fuss, satisfaction guaranteed site that rewards the consumer for letting their fingers do the walking at a time that suits them and for doing what they love to do......shop. They provide a personal shopping experience that takes your needs into consideration. Oz Web Rewards makes you, the consumer, feel important.

We asked Betty Zeritis from Pass It Forward Gifts (www.passitforwardgifts.com.au) what she thought of Oz Web Rewards.

I have reviewed this site and I have to say it is definitely one of the best merchant sites that I have seen - I was very attracted to their offer and quickly signed up myself.

It is a very attractive and well organised website, easy to navigate and motivating. Functionality is excellent and service was very prompt and professional.

I like the fact that they are very open, clear and transparent – a lot of sites of this nature are confusing, you don't know who is behind there and the best you get is a virtual chat box or contact form (fingers crossed someone is on the receiving end and bothers to respond). Happy to see a local contact number and the fact that I was quickly contacted by a gentleman when I signed up offering assistance.

Support Australian business and be rewarded! Love it. 


Review: Jennifer Deaves



Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Curses and Blessings for All Occasions by Bradley Trevor Greive



 “May shopping trolleys that refuse to roll straight steer you clear of misfortune and into the arms of love” - Bradley Trevor Grieve


Hilarious, outrages and down right funny is the only way to really describe Curses and Blessings for all Occasions by Bradley Trevor Greive. There are times you are so angry you need to curse, and then laugh and turn your anger away, and this is the book just for those occasions.

Having never read a book by Bradley Trevor Greive and, to be honest with you, having never heard of him I at first wondered what this book was and what was it's purpose. It then occurred to me that Bradley Trevor Greive ( BTG) is not a man to be taken seriously. From introduction to the very last page his wacky humor and fun loving look on life leaves you laughing, wondering and shaking your head at how the mind of this man see's life. My soft subtle giggle that started with the books introduction soon burst into a full on belly giggling laugh that had tears rolling down my face. I read this book whilst in the presence of  family and friends and soon found I could not keep the pages to myself as stares of disbelief and wonderment glared my way. All present were sure I had lost my marbles.


Curses and Blessings for All Occasions has something for everyone. Some pages left me wondering whether they were blessings or curses, leaving them open to be used as felt warranted, but then again would one really use these blessings in any situation other than to giggle their day away. The comical black and white drawings of lovable animals compliments the book adding extra humor and wonderment. Although children would never understand the wit of BTG my five year old daughter saw the humor in the pictures as we discussed why mummy had lost her marbles and was rolling on the floor in laughter. A splash of red and blue throughout the drawing builds colour and character to the black and white theme.

“May you be reunited with your lost socks in the after life”  Well BTG I sure hope so as this will solve the mystery of where they have gone and put a stop to the stress of trying to pair them.

Curses and Blessing for All Occasions is one of the most versatile and diverse books I have come across in a long time. Depending on your love of life, viewpoint and the one you are aiming your slur at it leads itself to the interpretation of the individual. For my son, a lover of cats,“May cats acknowledge you”  would compliment  his day. For myself my day would need readjusting. “May your neighbours rooster have a sore throat”, well what a blessing that would be, unless of course you use the rooster as your daily morning alarm clock.

Being one who believes in a place where positivity and happiness should be the norm and negativity should be long forgotten I love this book. I feel it has a place within society where it will brighten the day of those who are blessed enough to be given the opportunity to read it's pages. Curses and Blessings for All Occasions is a must have coffee table book in all homes and business's. Your guests will surely leave with a spring in their feet and a memory in their heart.

They say laughter is the best medicine..... then Bradley Trevor Grieve is definitely the doctor.



CURSES & BLESSINGS FOR ALL OCCASIONS by Bradley Trevor Greive, published by Allen & Unwin, RRP $16.99, is available now.

Grab your copy online:


“ May you smile so much that you sprain a dimple” - Bradley Trevor Greive


reviewed by Jennifer Deaves

Friday, August 10, 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy - E L James


With all the media hype of late I thought I would put to the test the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy by E L James – Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shade Darker, Fifty Shades Freed. This is the first time I have ever read an erotic romance, not usually my cup of tea, so was hesitant as to how I was going to feel. Well my hesitation and uncertainty was soon put to rest as I turned page by page with anticipation.

“Romantic, liberating and totally addictive, this is a novel that will obsess you, possess you and stay with you forever” is written on the back cover of book one, Fifty Shades of Grey, and how correct it is. As soon as I finished the last page I was rushing out to buy the next two in the trilogy. No one dare disturb me as I sunk myself into the wild and seductive, yet romantic, world of Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey.

As a liberated and open minded person I did not find the dominant/submissive sexual fantasy of Christian Grey overwhelming or hard to deal with, nor did I find them sexual stimulating, but some may. Hey each to there own I say, it takes all sorts to make the world go around. I find the human mind and lifestyles of others interesting and intriguing and although fiction this trilogy gives you a brief insight into the reality of the sexual world of others.

My page turning interest in this trilogy was the romantic story of Anastasia Steele, a women who finds herself falling in love with a rich man who has a life totally outside that of hers. Her struggle to understand his wealth and find acceptance and a place in a lifestyle that engulfs her. Then there is Christian Grey a man that turns heads as he walks down the street and has every women gushing and going weak at the knees. Hurt by a past of confusion, loss and trauma, seeking in Anastasia a submissive to meet his sexual desires yet finding a young beautiful women who turns his world around. E L James takes the reader on a journey of love, lust, desire and commitment in an unconventional way, that at times, could be sexually arousing yet is sweet, romantic and heart touching.

I did feel that the amount of sex in the first book could have been lessened, as it did become that of total disbelief and unrealism as one got halfway through the book. Sex every day, every moment, reaching constant orgasm, lusting and desiring one another is not a piece of reality for most and the fantasy soon became boring and repetitive. I know the book is fiction but for me fiction must contain a little bit of believability or one soon starts to loose that of being able to live in the world of the characters. One must be able to take one self from the believable world to the one of fantasy knowing there is a little bit of possibility.

For me Fifty Shades Darker ( book two ) was the one that was most enjoyable. Less sex, more real romance and twists and turns of deceit and betrayal left me wanting more each page. At times the suspense was so invigorating I found myself fighting sleep in order to turn the page. Book two ends with a cliff hanger and here it should have stopped. I love a book that leaves me wondering for weeks what happened, who it is or who did it. I love to be left floating forever with questions hanging over my head and this is what E L James manages to do with Fifty Shades Darker.

Then the reader moves onto Fifty Shades Freed.....in my opinion E L James should have stopped at book two. I found Fifty Shades Freed slow and a little hard to get into. Whether it was that I had already read two in the series and was a little over it or the storyline was weak I am really unsure but I feel it was the later. Still a romantic love story, book three was just missing that little thing that wanted me to read more. It all became a little boring and I felt E L James struggled to continue building her characters and their life. There was little sex, for the reader who sex was the draw card, as after all how much can one do. It was as though the characters had finally come down to earth and became a little more “real” but this seemed to cause change in the flow of story telling and style of writing which lost me as I had become familiar with the writings of E L James.

So do I recommend the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy? Of course. Enjoyable, stimulating, erotic and romantic they have something for everyone. I question whether the media hype really is worth it but it boosts sales and I am sure E L James in not complaining. One needs to remember that they are just a set of fiction books  and that whilst reading them leads to entertainment and conversation we need to question if  they really will change the sexual relationships of everyday man and build a place of happier, more loving relationships? In reality I think not.

Jennifer Deaves



Sunday, January 29, 2012

The Organic Mind. The missing link to the minds mysteries by Michael Morel


As published in Good Gabble Magazine



How can mankind make the transition from using the Traditional Mind to embracing the Organic Mind, without losing the wonderful creative qualities we have developed over many centuries? This is a question asked by Michael Morel in his book The Organic Mind. His desired outcome is that of a society in which we are all equal and have ample opportunity to use our creative energy to develop a peaceful earth free from wars, sickness and poverty.

Michael presents a refreshing yet realistic look at the way our mind controls our lives and its outcomes. He speaks with truth and honesty and shows us how using our 'Organic Mind' can turn our lives around for the better. He doesn't confess to being right or wrong but uses his personal life experiences to talk of his discoveries, providing a thought provoking read.

In Chapter One Michael talks of the the Traditional Mind versus the Organic Mind. He refers to the Traditional Mind being that of a mind that is not free. A mind that is confined by boundaries, rules, regulations and laws. The Organic Mind is that of the total opposite, one that is totally free and guided only by universal wisdom.
The Organic Mind by Michael Morel offers food for the mind. It inspires, evokes and empowers. It leaves one feeling that freedom is on your doorstep and within the grasp of your thought processes. Within The Organic Mind Michael speaks of the common denominators within all of us.

Although we come in assorted sizes, shapes and colours, inherently we all have seven common denominators, to a greater or lesser degree: Body, Mind, Spirit, Soul, Emotions, Conditioning, Language.”

Within The Organic Mind Michael talks of each denominator and how it fits into our life. He talks of
All manifestations beginning with an idea, a silent thought or a spoken word.” We are told this time and time again through many writings but within The Organic Mind Michael Morel is able to put the pieces together, making sense and providing information that one can relate to and recall as required.

How often have we imagined a world where negative words have been eliminated and the void spaces filled with positive. Michael Morel address's just this possibility in chapter 1 page 35. Although this may seem impossible Michael looks at how, over three generations, we could achieve just this. The process he proposes is that of common sense and one that is right in front of our noses. It starts in our education system and our religion.

Retain that which is of benefit and delete that which is detrimental,” writes Michael Morel.
Children must be educated to use the Organic Mind. We're taught to think in our native language, and to speak with that same language, not realising that choice of words is of particular importance to the young and fertile mind...............If we're taught to use the Traditional Mind only, there comes a time when we cannot think in any other way.”

The Organic Mind talks of the seeds ( ideas) of our mind being like that of a plant. When planted within our mind some may take a few weeks to germinate before coming to a point where they can be harvested, where others may take years. Michael speaks of the seeds we plant knowing what to do and how to grow and bear fruit. It is what we label reality, that stops an idea growing, this being doubt, impatience, fear or lack of faith. Michael suggests that the Organic Mind knows exactly what to do and has provided the perfect plan for you, the individual. All one has to do is follow it without interference of thought. This is what Michael calls being on autopilot and what those who use the Traditional Mind may call being irrational, carefree and irresponsible.


I loved Michael Morels way of looking at life and our journey on earth. There was never a time I felt I could not achieve the Organic Mind and was halfway there by the end of the book. I wrote this review around a month after reading the book and found the journey of rereading and skimming the pages a refreshing reminder of where I go wrong on days I struggle to push the Traditional Mind to the back bench. The Organic Mind provides information that changes the lives of your whole family. By embracing your own Organic Mind your interactions with loved ones and society as a whole leaves a positive experience. We are able to pay our mind thoughts forward to others who in return will pass it on.

With The Organic Mind by Michael Morel on my bookshelf I am positive that I will continue to travel forward with my quest to reach this state of mind. The Organic Mind is more than just a book, it is a resource that you will come back to time and time again. Within is the ticket to a life of less stress, worry and doubt. A life that has you enjoying who you are, those around you and the journey you are taking.

To quote Michael Morel “ The bow is the mind and words are the answers, and just as arrows can wound and destroy, so too can words” Through The Organic Mind I have been empowered to use my natural state of mind, my Organic Mind, and destroy those arrows for good.

The greatest gift a young person can receive today is not a new computer, mobile or car, but the gift of confidence and the information required to allow them to be totally self-responsible. Children today appear to grow up more quickly than when I was a child in the 1930s, and yet and emotion, a thought or an action is the same as it has ever been.” ~ Michael Morel.

Published in Australia 2011


review: Jennifer Deaves



Quality Australian Healing Gifts


Hospital Healing Hampers is a business that is built from the heart. Founder Jen Holdsworth knows only to well the perils of hospital visits and the need for products that make you feel good about yourself during these times.

During her 18 weeks scan of her fourth pregnancy Jen was told that her little baby had many problems and that she would be best to terminate. Deciding to continue with the pregnancy she prepared for what was ahead. At 36 weeks, when her baby would not move and the heart was shown to be struggling, she was induced. Josie was born blue and was found to have no hips, heart problems and a horseshoe kidney. She was eventually diagnosed with Kabuki syndrome and today, at the age of 10, has had over 13 operations with many more to come. Living in Tasmania with trips to Victoria for treatment Jen and her family know all to well the stress and strain hospitals can have on individuals and families. With this in mind Hospital Healing Hampers was born.



“During these visits we have recognised the need for quality 100% Australian gifts that help people to feel good about themselves during illness or surgery, plus the need to help family members also feel good whilst dealing with the process of healing.” writes Jen on her site hospitalhealinghampers.com.au. “We have wonderfully, equally passionate and 100 %Australian suppliers, who provide quality products to put in each Hamper. Our healing products are aimed at helping you to feel good and start the healing process. Don’t ever stop believing that your voice, your actions and love can have a profound impact on another persons life. Every act of love and kindness towards another is a tiny seed of hope planted in that persons heart.”

We were totally blown away when we received a Little Squirt hamper from Jen. This hamper, valued at $55 consists of an Organic Cotton grow shirt from myheartbeatsgreen.com.au, in a natural colour that can be worn by a girl or boy, Rose Geranium and lavender pure vegetable soup and organic lip balm from Absolutely Gorgeous and a pack of organic baby essentials that include shampoo and wash, moisturiser and bottom balm. Also included is the most gorgeous Tasmanian terracotta rose that has been dipped in rose oil. This rose sits on my desk and still today, months later, lingers the rose smell, relaxing me as I work.

To top of such an amazing array of products all are presented in a corrugated cardboard bag that is decorated with a soft pastel cardboard flower, rossettes and butterfly. Included is a gift card and tag that presents with glistening gem stone butterflies with the words “just for you”.

Hospital Healing Hampers post to any destination in Australia with items being delivered overnight to metropolitan areas. Some regional areas may take up to two days. Each Hamper is hand packaged by Jen. They are sealed in a box which is wrapped using brown paper, handed addressed and decorated to suit the theme. Being a baby and mum hamper ours was decorated with pram's, baby footprints and a rossette. Stamped upon the outside package was the added touch of the words “May your day be as special as you are”

We were left speechless when our package arrived. The presentation was beyond expectations and we all agreed that we had never received a packaged that oozed such love and care. The wonderment and awe continued as we opened the package to be greeted with organic products that lifted our spirits and blessed us with fragrance. As I write this my heart flutters at the memories of the gift. It truly touched the hearts of all who were present. The love, compassion and understanding flowed from the hamper with each touch. It left all with a surreal feeling with the body tingling as you took in the elegant finish.

This love and thought is carried through to the internet site of Healing Hospital Hampers. From the home page to the easy navigating of the site Hospital Healing Hampers provide a relaxing welcoming place to be. Using relaxing yet vibrant warm colours descriptions of items are available with clear with easy checkout.

It is evident that Jen and her family have put a lot of thought, time and love into what they do. Their passion and dedication for helping and caring about others shines through. It is lovely to see a product that is not only compassionate to the needs of the receiver and giver but also the environment. Care and love has gone into the selection of each individual item, showing unity and a common goal by Jen and her suppliers.

I can do nothing more than highly recommend Hospital Healing Hampers. Not only are they hampers that touch the heart but $1 from the sale of each hamper is donated to the affiliates of Hospital Healing Hampers to purchase resources for families with a recent genetic diagnosis in Australia.

These hampers should not be kept just for hospital related incidents. They would also make a great gift for Christmas and just to show you care. With hampers that suit babies, children, families, ladies and men there is something to suit the needs of all. Hampers can also be custom made to suit your needs and budget.

Visit Hospital Healing Hampers online at: www.hospitalhealinghampers.com.au

article: Jennifer Deaves




As published in Rattling Reviews